Ute Freund & Rûken Tekeş

Ute Freund is a cinematographer based in Berlin. She shoots experimental art films, features and documentaries. She studied art history before her film studies at Hamburg Media School. Her diploma film THE RUNAWAY won Student Academy Award 2005. She was selected by Kodak for Emerging Filmmakers Program at Cannes FF. With feature YOU TOLD ME, THAT YOU LOVE ME she was awarded with with 1st prize of the National Competition for Women DoPs 2007. For the documentary HELLO I AM DAVID! she received Deutscher Kamerapreis 2016.

Rûken Tekeş, born in Diyarbakır, is an international human rights expert and self-made filmmaker. She began scriptwriting and directing on social, political and environmental issues in 2015. Her multi-award-winning fiction short debut HEVÊRK / THE CIRCLE was nominated for European Film Awards 2017. Her feature debut AETHER has premiered at Visions du Réel FF 2019, screened and awarded in international festivals. Her new feature film PHILAX is in development and has been selected to L’Atelier 2022 of 75th Cannes FF. Tekeş is member of European Film Academy.

Ute Freund and Rûken Tekeş are residents at the Tarabya Cultural Academy from October 2022 to January 2023 as a tandem of the German-Turkish co-production grants supported by the Allianz Kulturstiftung.

Ute Freund & Rûken Tekeş

Ute Freund ist Kamerafrau und lebt in Berlin. Sie dreht experimentelle Kunstfilme, Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme. Sie studierte Kunstgeschichte, bevor sie ihr Kamerastudium an der Hamburg Media School begann. Ihr Diplomfilm AUSREISSER erhielt 2005 einen Studentenoscar. 2006 wurde sie ausgewählt für das Emerging Filmmakers Program in Cannes. Mit DU HAST GESAGT, DASS DU MICH LIEBST gewann sie 2007 den Nationalen Wettbewerb für Bildgestalterinnen. Für den Dokumentarfilm HELLO, I AM DAVID! erhielt sie den Deutschen Kamerapreis 2016.

Rûken Tekeş, geboren in Diyarbakır, ist eine internationale Menschenrechtsexpertin und Filmemacherin. Sie begann 2015 mit dem Drehbuchschreiben und Regieführen zu sozialen, politischen und ökologischen Themen. Ihr mehrfach preisgekröntes Kurzfilmdebüt HEVÊRK / THE CIRCLE wurde für den Europäischen Filmpreis 2017 nominiert. Ihr Spielfilmdebüt AETHER feierte beim Visions du Réel FF 2019 Premiere und wurde auf internationalen Festivals ausgezeichnet. Tekeş lebt derzeit in Istanbul und entwickelt ihren neuen Spielfilm PHILAX

Ute Freund und Rûken Tekeş sind von Oktober 2022 bis Januar 2023 als Tandem im Rahmen der deutsch-türkischen Koproduktionsstipendien, unterstützt von der Allianz Kulturstiftung, Stipendiat:innen der Kulturakademie Tarabya.