Sonja Lau, Foto: Christina Dimitriadis

Sonja Lau

Sonja Lau works as a freelance curator, writer and lecturer with a focus on the relationship between art, power and history, mechanisms of art history production and curating as a performative and artistic practice. After her MA (Chelsea College of Art and Design, London), she was a Fellow of the Alfred Toepfer F.V.S. and the Robert Bosch Stiftung (Tirana, Albania, 2008-10 and 2011-13), Curatorial Fellow at the Jan Van Eyck Academy, Maastricht, and is a member of the ICI – Independent Curators International, New York.

Past exhibitions and projects include Kunsthalle Düsseldorf (Zusammenhang Gesamtkunstwerk, 2015), Deutsches Hygiene-Museum, Dresden (Der Zaudernde Körper, 2013), National Theatre Tirana (Fiend. The 21 Seconds piece, with Armando Lulaj and John Tilbury); Opera Village Africa (Von der Kunst, die Waffen gegen sich selbst zu wenden, with Friedrich von Borries, Clémentine Deliss, and Ariane Müller, 2020); in addition to interventions and actions such as Try… Again… Better. Cornelius Cardew in Tirana, 2012, Tirana Historical Museum; Repaintings, together with André Siegers, 2008, National Gallery Tirana. Her reviews and essays have been published in, among others, Texte zu Kunst, Cabinet Magazine, Arts of the Working Class, or in the catalogue 10 Jahre Operndorf Afrika (Spector Books, 2021).

Currently, Lau is researching and working on the evaluation of femininity in contemporary jurisprudence (re: von der poesie im recht, 2021, Studio Bethanien, with Nika Dubrovsky, Dominique Hurth, Silvia Federici, et al.), and is the author of the taz blog Die Pflicht zum weiblichen Ungehorsam, which deals with the legal evaluation of female perpetration. She is currently preparing an exhibition on this topic at Kunstraum Kreuzberg (November 2022), as well as a publication project that will have its start at the Tarabya Cultural Academy.

Sonja Lau is a resident at the Tarabya Cultural Academy from April to July 2022.

Sonja Lau, Foto: Christina Dimitriadis

Sonja Lau

Sonja Lau arbeitet als freie Kuratorin, Autorin und Dozentin mit einem Schwerpunkt auf dem Verhältnis von Kunst, Macht und Geschichte, Mechanismen der Kunstgeschichtsproduktion und dem Kuratieren als performative und künstlerische Praxis. Nach ihrem MA (Chelsea College of Art and Design, London) war sie Fellow der Alfred Toepfer F.V.S. und der Robert Bosch Stiftung (Tirana, Albanien, 2008-10 und 2011-13), Curatorial Fellow an der Jan Van Eyck Akademie, Maastricht, und ist Mitglied der ICI – Independent Curators International, New York.

Vergangene Ausstellungen und Projekte realisierte sie u. a. an der Kunsthalle Düsseldorf (Zusammenhang Gesamtkunstwerk, 2015), dem Deutschen Hygiene-Museum, Dresden (Der Zaudernde Körper, 2013), dem Nationaltheater Tirana (Fiend. The 21 Seconds piece, mit Armando Lulaj und John Tilbury) und dem Operndorf Afrika (Von der Kunst, die Waffen gegen sich selbst zu wenden, mit Friedrich von Borries, Clémentine Deliss, und Ariane Müller, 2020); daneben Interventionen und Aktionen, u. a. Try… Again… Better. Cornelius Cardew in Tirana, 2012, Historisches Museum Tirana; Repaintings, gemeinsam mit André Siegers, 2008, Nationalgalerie Tirana.). Kritiken und Essays erschienen u. a. in Texte zu Kunst, Cabinet Magazine, Arts of the Working Class, oder im Katalog 10 Jahre Operndorf Afrika (Spector Books, 2021).

Aktuell forscht und arbeitet Lau zur Bewertung von Weiblichkeit in der zeitgenössischen Rechtsprechung (re: von der poesie im recht, 2021, Studio Bethanien, mit Nika Dubrovsky, Dominique Hurth, Silvia Federici, u. a.), und ist Autorin des taz-Blogs Die Pflicht zum weiblichen Ungehorsam, der sich mit der juristischen Bewertung von weiblicher Täterschaft beschäftigt. Zu dieser Fragestellung bereitet sie derzeit eine Ausstellung im Kunstraum Kreuzberg vor (November 2022), als auch ein Publikationsprojekt, das an der Kulturakademie Tarabya seinen Anfang nimmt.

Sonja Lau ist von April bis Juli 2022 Stipendiatin der Kulturakademie Tarabya.